"So hungry I could eat a horse!" - Could it be done?

Sarah GENT

Abstract


This paper investigates the feasibility of the idiom “I’m so hungry I could eat a horse!”. Three different sized horses were considered: an average ‘light’ horse (450 kg), a Shetland pony (204 kg) and a Falabella miniature horse (31 kg). Only the muscle mass of these horses was considered to be eaten, and the number of calories in each of the horse breeds was calculated to be 359,100 calories, 162,792 calories and 25,336.5 calories respectively. These values were compared to the guideline daily amount (GDA) of 2,000 calories. It was found that the idiom could only hold if the eater had an enormous appetite, such as a competitive eater who is able to eat up to 30,000 calories in a single sitting, and the horse was very small – only the Falabella would provide few enough calories to be able to be eaten in a single serving.


Full Text:

PDF

References


Stackexchange (2017). Where does “I could eat a horse” come from? English Language and Usage. Available at: https://english.stackexchange.com/questions/380851/where-does-i-could-eat-a-horse-come-from [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

Briggs, K. (2000). Weighing In. The Horse. Available at: https://thehorse.com/14015/weighing-in/ [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

Engfelt, C. (n.d.) Massage and muscles. Positive Riding. Available at: http://positiveriding.com/resourcelibrary/Massage&Muscles-Sec.pdf [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

Condé Nast (2014) Game meat, horse, raw: Nutrition, Facts, and Calories. Self Nutrition Data – know what you eat. Available at: http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/lamb-veal-and-game-products/4639/2 [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

The Shetland Pony Stud-Book Society (2012) Breed Standard. Available at: http://www.shetlandponystudbooksociety.co.uk/about-the-breed/breed-standard [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

PetBreeds (2018a) Shetland Pony. Available at: http://horses.petbreeds.com/l/140/Shetland-Pony [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

PetBreeds (2018b) Falabella. Available at: http://horses.petbreeds.com/l/12/Falabella [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

Arnold, J. (2016) What’s the Difference Between Mini Horses and Ponies? HorseChannel.com. Available at: http://www.horsechannel.com/horse-resources/whats-the-difference-between-mini-horses-and-ponies.aspx [Accessed: 26th March 2018]

Larbi, M. (2017) How many calories are in a Christmas dinner? Metro. Available at: http://metro.co.uk/2017/11/30/how-many-calories-are-in-a-christmas-dinner-7120712/ [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

Lorenzo,T. (2012) The Calories Behind the Biggest Eating Records. Tailgate Fan. Available at: http://tailgatefan.cbslocal.com/2012/12/31/the-calories-behind-the-biggest-eating-records/ [Accessed: 14th March 2018]

Daily Mail Reporter (2010) Stuffed! The 30,000-calorie Christmas feast eaten by the world's fattest mum in ONE two-hour sitting. Daily Mail. Available at: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1341683/Donna-Simpsons-feast-The-30-000-calorie-Christmas-feast-eaten-worlds-fattest-mum-ONE-hour-sitting.html [Accessed: 14th March 2018]


Refbacks

  • There are currently no refbacks.
We use both functional and performance cookies to improve visitor experience. Continue browsing if you are happy to accept cookies. Please see our Privacy Policy for more information.
OK